Am I now a Midwesterner?

Evidence to suggest yes: Shameless lack of judgment while attending Wisconsin State Fair.

I was at a social/business event last night with people who had gathered from all around the country. I am always intrigued about first impressions of a place, so I got to talking about first impressions of Milwaukee (short answer: the conference rooms are about the same so far). All this where-ya-from talk led to a moment of shock for me.

“So how long have you lived in Wisconsin?”

“Um …” (doing the math in my head) “… OH MY GOD.”

“What, what? Did you forget something?”

“Twenty years!”

“Wha?”

“I have. Lived in Wisconsin. For 20 years.”

It just kinda crept up on me, I guess.

I tossed and turned last night thinking about this. I always considered myself someone raised in New Jersey who moved around a bit and then decided to live in the midwest. But when you live in a place for 20 years, maybe it’s time to grow out of that.

How long does it take? Am I now a Midwesterner?

3 Comments

Filed under Musings

3 responses to “Am I now a Midwesterner?

  1. Well, yes. But you’re still from New Jersey.

  2. Rob McGonigal

    Wait till you pass the 50 percent mark, the date on which you’ve lived Out Here longer than Back There. That’s sobering!

Leave a Reply

