Eggplant parm chronicles, continued

Dear person who recommended the Trader Joe’s Eggplant Parm:

Tonight, I needed my eggplant parm comfort food. Bad. Following your suggestion, I went to TJ’s. I found the “Trader Giotto’s Eggplant Parmesan Grilled Not Fried.” OK so I burned my hand because in loading it into the oven the frozen cube of eggplant parm popped out of the cardboard tray and landed on the oven’s bottom and I had to retrieve it. OK so my apartment now smells like burnt marinara sauce. I was willing to put that aside.

But after heating it up according to directions, I found the sauce watery, the eggplant on the tough side, and the entire dish tame-tasting.

Conclusion: Not a Celentano substitute.

I did find a second eggplant parm at Trader Joe’s. Perhaps that is what you meant. I suspect I’ll have another day like today soon and will try it. More later.

Sincerely,

B.

1 Comment

Filed under Appetite, Obsessions

One response to “Eggplant parm chronicles, continued

  1. Deborah

    I called Rosina Customer Service to ask about Wisconsin outlets for Celentano foods. I am certain you already have done this, Diane, but in case not, I’m covering this base for you. I DO have a nephew in Buffalo…home of Rosina Products…I will ask if he might be willing to drive out a truckload of eggplant. He’s a good boy; however, I give this idea maybe a 10% chance of success. Will think harder.

Leave a Reply

